Rose City Yarn Crawl 2014!!

 

 

Image

Image

ImageImage

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Oh my goodness AMAZING!!! The yarn crawl was soooo much fun! (technically its not over yet– get crawling if you haven’t yet!! It goes through Sunday!!) We hit 17 shops (we’ve got one left for today) between Thursday and Friday and pretty much got the full driving tour of Portland. I can’t believe I’d lived in the Rose City for 18 years and had never seen parts of the city/metropolitan area where some of the yarn shops were at (I’m talking to you Multnomah Village!). And after living in Eugene for 5 years… I want to stay! I miss you Portland, you and your yarny amazing-ness. 

Anyways… back to the crawl. It kicked off with the Yarn Ball, where most memorably I got to see all the lovely MKAL shawls all finished and meet the designer herself, Michele Bernstein! Check out her blog post on the Yarn Crawl, she’s got a photo of me, her and my mom at the ball! I also won a raffle prize for a skein of Solstice Midsommar Sock donated by Dublin Bay Knitting Company!

The first day of our crawl (Thursday) my mom and I started with Twisted and hit all the downtown-ish stores on both sides of the river. That day we saw Twisted (purchased the Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock special Gulchtastic colorway), Dublin Bay Knitting Company (purchased two skeins of Lopi Lettlopi), Pearl Fiber Arts (purchased an amazing hand made button from One Of A King Buttons that says “Knitters have a ball in Portland, OR”), Knit Purl (mom bought a sample that was on sale, a pretty yellow scarf), Angelika’s, Yarn Garden (got a sweater’s worth of Jo Sharp DK that was on sale to make the Driftwood sweater as I was inspired by their shop sample), Happy Knits, Gossamer, Close Knit, and Yarnia (created my own red bulky weight!)!! 

Yesterday (friday) on day two, we saw Naked Sheep Knit Shop, Little Lamb and Ewe (purchased some Manos del Uruguay Maxima), Wool ‘n Wares, All About Yarn, NW Wools (mom bought me some really cute gift tags for knitted gifts), For Yarn’s Sake, and Black Sheep at Orenco. We’ve still got Knitting Bee, but my parents house is about 1/2 mile from the store so we are going to go there really quick today before I have to head back home. 

All in all, I have to say is this trip has been amazing, I’m super inspired and I LOVED the Rose City Yarn Crawl! 

 

One response to “Rose City Yarn Crawl 2014!!

  1. snowdaycmclcirc

    Had so much fun visiting all the yarn shops with you. Glad that you got so much yarn and new projects to work on. Can’t wait to see the finished knitted projects.

Leave a Reply

